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Question 1: 
If a competitor has become separated from their boat, would the boat risk being in breach of 
RRS 41 if a safety or coach boat intervened either by recovering the competitor from the 
water and returning them to their boat or by placing themselves between incoming boats and 
the competitor. 

Answer 1: 
A competitor in the water is in danger, and therefore help to remove the competitor from 
danger is permitted under RRS 41(a). 

Question 2: 
RRS 41 states that a competitor who receives a significant advantage from help received 
under RRS 41(a) may be protested and penalised. How would the IJ consider if a boat had 
gained a significant advantage? 

Answer 2: 
If the help given continues after the sailor is no longer in danger, this continuing help would 
break RRS 41, and would result in a penalty if there is a protest.  

For example, if a sailor has been rescued from the water by the safety RIB, and the sailor’s 
boat is able to return to where the safety RIB is, but instead the safety RIB progresses 
forwards along the leg to catch up with the sailor’s boat, this would be outside help that is 
more than what is permitted under RRS 41(a). 

Question 3: 
Are there any other rules that the IJ would require to consider for the scenario outlined in 
Question 1. 

Answer 3: 
Yes. SI 25.1 and the SBR require team leaders, coaches and other support personnel to be 
at least 100m from a boat racing. However these rules do not apply during rescue 
operations. A sailor who has become separated from his boat is in danger and intervening to 
protect him would be considered a rescue operation. 
 

Name  Signature 
 

Yoann Peronneau 
Chair, International Jury 

  
 


