ISAF has published the 2012 Olympic Qualification System as approved by the International Olympic Committee (IOC).
The 2012 Olympic Sailing Competition to be staged in Weymouth and Portland will feature 380 athletes competing across the following 10 events:
Men’s Windsurfer
Men’s One Person Dinghy
Men’s One Person Dinghy (Heavyweight)
Men’s Two Person Dinghy
Men’s Skiff
Men’s Keelboat

Women’s Windsurfer
Women’s One Person Dinghy
Women’s Two Person Dinghy
Women’s Match Racing
The total quota of athletes per National Olympic Committee (NOC) is 16, nine men and seven women (maximum 1 boat per event).

The Qualification Pathway states that 75% of each event’s entry quota shall be qualified from those best ranked NOCs in each of the relevant events at the 2011 ISAF Sailing World Championships (Perth 2011).

The remaining 25% of each events entry quota shall be qualified from each events 2012 World Championship or other event sanctioned by ISAF, to finish by 1 June 2012 at the latest.

Those NOC’s already qualified from the previous qualifying regattas shall not be considered. The 2012 Women’s Match Racing qualifying regatta will be sanctioned by ISAF but does not need to be a World Championship.

ISAF will inform NOC’s and Member National Associations (MNA’s) of Olympic quota places following the 2011 ISAF Sailing World Championship and each qualification regatta.

All NOC’s, including the host country must confirm to ISAF the use of all quota places by 1 June 2012. After this date the unconfirmed quota places will be allocated by the ISAF Qualification Committee with ISAF confirming the reallocation of unused places by 18 June 2012.

Full details of the Qualification System for the XXX Olympiad can be viewed from the attached pdf: English version; French version

For more details on the London 2012 Olympic Sailing Competition visit the ISAF London 2012 microsite at: