• en
49er Results
49erFX Results
Notice Board
Event Overview
Back to overview

April 2, 2014 – Sailing World Cup – Palma

The 49er Gold Fleet was treated to a strong offshore wind today of up to 20 knots that threw crews around like it was their boss. Well, almost all the crews. Many of the favorites took advantage of the shifty and puffy conditions to march up the leaderboard. 2013 World Champions Peter Burling and Blair Tuke took the second and third races of the day to move them up from fourth overall to first. They have now placed first or second in 6 of the 9 races completed. Also rocketing up the standings were Austria’s Nico Delle Karth and Nikolaus Relsh. They scored the fewest points on the day and advanced from 20th to 7th overall.

On the flip side, Stevie Morrison and Chris Grube had to retire from the last two races with Chris picking up a back issue. He’ll be re-evaluated in the morning to see if he can continue the regatta, but either way it’s rotten luck for Stevie who was in great position thus far and having worked through so many injuries to his former crew Ben Rhodes as well.

The 49erFX raced after the 49er and got 2 good races in before the wind died off for the day. Martine “Holy Junior” Grael and Kahena Kunze (BRA) continued their torrid pace with a win and a second place to keep their top place ranking. The two could do no wrong today, as every decision they made seemed to work out. The 2013 European Champion Danes Ida Neilsen and Marie Olsen also had a great day moving into second position. We caught up with a number of the teams after racing.

The 49erFX fleet is now 2 races behind schedule so will be first up in the morning. The forecast is calling for onshore and 20 knots, so the waves could make things very interesting for the sailors.

2014 Theatre Style Finals

2014 Palma World Cup Interviews

2013 Palma Finals

The official regatta website is here

The format of the regatta is 2 days of split fleet qualifying, with 50% of the fleet racing together at any one time.  Then the top 25 teams will make it to gold fleet for 3 days of gold fleet racing.  Finally, the top 10 will race in the theatre, for 3 X 10 minute, single point races.